Books Like Harry Potter

Harry Potter

Image by http://bit.ly/1mCQEcp

Harry Potter was ad still is a phenomena. No other book ever managed to draw so many young people in, creating a whole new generation of inspired and avid readers. Thus, J.K. Rowling didn’t only create a whole, magical, wizarding world, but also the best gateway drug to reading that parents, teachers, children and young adults could have hoped for.

 

Due to the series coming to an end, the ALA (American Library Association) voiced the fear that the interest in reading in teenagers could be declining again. To keep younger readers interested and hooked to the magic of the written word, they published a list of “Harry Potter-like” reads that is still relevant today.

 

No matter if you want to pitch one of the books to a young reader to keep them enticed or whether you are looking for a good read yourself that lets you feel the magic you experienced with Harry Potter again, these books will surely serve the purpose.

 

Books like Harry Potter

This list contains books that do not only share certain (magical) elements with the Harry Potter series, but that also share a similar, easy-to read tone and flavor. For books that are more complex to read, check out the second list.

Title (Series) Author Year
The Amulet of Samarkand
(The Bartimaeus Trilogy)
Stroud, Jonathan 2003
The Anybodies Bode, N.E. 2004
Artemis Fowl
(Artemis Fowl)
Colfer, Eoin 2001
The Bad Beginnings
(A Series Of Unfortunate Events)
Snicket, Lemony 1999
The Book Of Three
(Chronicles of Prydain)
Alexander, Lloyd 1964
Charlie Bone Nimmo, Jenny 2003
The Dark Is Rising
(Dark Is Rising Sequence)
Cooper, Susan 1973
Dealing With Dragons
(Enchanted Forest Chronicles)
Wrede, Patricia 1990
The Field Guide
(Spiderwick Chronicles)
Black, Holly 2003
The Folk Keeper Billingsly, Franny 2001
Inkheart Funke, Cornelia 2003
Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher
(Magic Shop Books)
Coville, Bruce 1991
Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo Skye, Obert 2005
Mister Monday
(Keys to the Kingdom)
Nix, Garth 2005
Otto and the Flying Twins:
The First Book of the Karmidee
Haptie, Charlotte 2003
The Secret Platform 13 Ibbotson, Eva 1998
Septimius Heap
Book One: Magyk
Sage, Angie 2005
So You Want to be a Wizard
(Young Wizard Series)
Duane, Diana 1983
The Witch Twins Griffin, Adele 2001
Witch Week
(Chrestomanci Books)
Jones, Diana Wynne 1982
The Wizard of Oz Baum, Frank L. 1996
Wizard’s Hall Yolen, Jane 1991

 

More Great Fantasy Books For Harry Potter Lovers

These books share themes of the Harry Potter series or similar story elements, but present a more elaborate read. They are more complex to read and thus are more directed to the now grown up Harry Potter audience.

Title (Series) Author Year
A Plague of Sorcerers Zambreno, Mary Frances 1991
A Wizard of Earthsea LeGuin, Ursula 1991
A Wrinkle in Time L’Engle, Madelaine 1987
Airborn Oppel, Kenneth 2004
The Chronicles of Narnia Lewis, C.S. 1998
The Changeover:
A Supernatural Romance
Mahy, Margaret 1994
Dragonsinger
(Harper Hall Trilogy)
McCaffrey, Anne 1977
Ella Enchanted Levine, Gail 1997
Eragon
(Eragon Series)
Paolini, Christopher 2003
Five Children and It Nesbit, E. 1996
The Golden Compass
(His Dark Materials)
Pullman, Philip 1996
Gregor the Overlander
(Underland Chronicles)
Collins, Suzanne 2003
Half Magic Eager, Edgar 2004
The Hero and the Crown McKinley, Robin 1984
The Hobbit Tolkien, J.R.R. 2001
The Lost Years of Merlin
(Lost Years of Merlin)
Barron, T.A. 1996
Midnight Magic Avi 1999
The Neverending Story Ende, Michael 1997
The Oracle Betrayed
(Oracle Prophecies)
Fisher, Catherine 2004
Ranger’s Apprentice:
The Ruins of Gorlan
Flanagan, John 2005
Sabriel
(Abhorsen Trilogy)
Nix, Garth 1995
Same Place but Different Nobleman, Perry 1995
Sandry’s Book
(Circle of Magic)
Pierce, Tamora 1997
School of Wizardry
(Corcle of Magic)
Doyle, Debra
McDonald, James D.
2000
Sea of Trolls Farmer, Nancy 2004
Sign of the Qin
(Outlanders of Moonshadow Marsh)
Bass, L.G. 2004
Singer of all Songs Constable, Kate 2004
Silverwing Oppel, Kenneth 1997
Wee Free Man Pratchett, Terry 2003
Wise Child Furlong, Monica 1987
The Wizard Test Bell, Hilari 2005
Year of the Griffin Jones, Diana 2000

 

A New Harry Potter Book!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Image from Amazon

And that’s not even all! On July 31st 2016, a new Book in the Harry Potter series is going to be released! Together with Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, J.K. Rowling revisited Harry Potter and his friends and family. The first Harry Potter story to be presented on stage is set nineteen years after the end of the seventh book (not the after the epilogue, mind you).

Accompany Harry while he faces a lot different struggles working for the Ministry of Magic while his son Albus is struggling with the family legacy that is slowly wearing him down.

Pre-order here: Amazon.com

 

And if you haven’r read them already, check out books mentioned and playing a more or less big role in Harry Potter itself: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them!

email
Posted in Reading Tagged with: , ,